Bring it on Knit Nation… I’m ready for you!

Well, almost 😉

I’ve been frantically finishing WIPs to display on my stall so that now currently enjoying the magical blocking process are:

1. Travelling Woman shawl in the U-boat Crazy Zauberball

2. Ysolda’s Scroll Lace Scarf in the Europa colourway of Manos Silk Blend

lace blocking

I’m very happy with both of these… or at least I was, until I saw this…

eek a dropped stitch

I don’t drop stitches. I just don’t. Ever. The, um, downside of this is that I have No Idea how to fix it. You can probably see that I already made a bit of a hash of pretending I hadn’t dropped anything, ending in the blue pin. The red pin is holding a loose bit of cast off edge. All I can hope that someone comes round and rescues me, otherwise I’ll be taking the shawl, still pinned to a sofa cushion, to the show with me, with a big sign pinned on saying HELP!

But setting that aside for now I have been getting some things packed, see?

where's the yarn?!

Empty space where the yarn was this morning! Now, you’ll remember me saying before that I have the best dad ever* (B, of the Big Needles fame)… so last time I saw him I said “Dad?? can you make me something to hold all the colours of Superwash DK?”. After some debating over the design and a trip to the local hardware store he made this…

the Super-B Artesano Superwash yarn holder

Which from the side looks like this…

Super-B Superwash DK side view

How. Cool. Is. That?!!! It holds 100 balls of wool and spins round and everything! And you can load it before the show and simply plonk it on the table! The only thing is that I already need a second one ideally….

I’ll save that bombshell for just before Wonderwool 2011 😉

So, back to it… there’s more to pack, things to print off, bits and bobs to hunt for and lists to tick off 🙂

*Mum is fabulous too, and I’ve learnt over the years that I’ve not to show any favouritism… I love you both!

4 thoughts on “Bring it on Knit Nation… I’m ready for you!

  1. That turntable idea is fantastic!! I can’t tell you how many yarn stores I’ve destroyed by picking up the ball to get a closer look at the colour, and everything within the same shelf suddenly explodes! Sometimes other shelves too! And every store owner/worker always says the same “Don’t worry, this always happens”. So I kind of wonder why the yarn is stored that way in the first place. Sure it looks pretty, but such a poor design.

    This however is ingenious. A tremendous idea. Good on yer Dad!

    Good luck at Knit Nation.

    1. Hee hee, yes I’ve done that too! Can’t wait to get a ‘real’ shop and design more fabulous storage for B to make 🙂
      Thanks for your comments!
      Sarah x

  2. The turn table is fantastic, you have a clever Dad.

    Can I borrow your Dad when I need something to display my hand thrown ceramics on?

    1. I’m sure he’d love to help out! The only thing is that mum has a long list of things he’s to be Getting On With first and I doubt she’d release him 😉

Leave a comment